You are here

2018 Distinguished Lectureships

2018 Distinguished Lectureships | ASCRS

The following prestigious lectureships will be held during the 2018 Annual Scientific Meeting.


Norman D. Nigro, MD, Research Lectureship 
Sunday, May 20, 2018
1:30 – 2:15 pm

Heidi Nelson, MD, of Rochester, MN will present this year’s Norman D. Nigro, MD, Research Lectureship. This lectureship honors Dr. Nigro’s significant research in the prevention of large bowel cancer and treatment of squamous cell carcinoma of the anus, as well as his leadership role in his chosen specialty and allied medical organizations. Dr. Nelson will be introduced by Bruce Wolff, MD. The title of her presentation is "Gut Microbiome, Metabolomic and Colon Cancer: the Environmental Link?"

Presidential Address
Monday, May 21, 2018
10:45 – 11:30 am

Guy R. Orangio, MD, of New Orleans, LA, was elected president of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons at the 2017 ASCRS Annual Scientific and Tripartite Meeting in Seattle, WA.

Dr. Orangio is Associate Professor of Clinical Surgery, Chief Section of Colon and Rectal Surgery at Louisiana State University Healthcare Network Clinic; and Adjunct Associate Professor of Clinical Surgery, Tulane School of Medicine/Department of Surgery in New Orleans, LA.

He first served on the ASCRS Executive Council as a Member-at-Large in 2010, as Vice President in 2015, and as President-elect in 2016. During his tenure as a Fellow of the ASCRS, Dr. Orangio has been a member of several volunteer committees including the Healthcare Economics, Healthcare Reform, Bylaws and Website Committees. He is also a member of the Research Foundation of the ASCRS Board of Trustees. The title of his presentation is "Across the Universe: Sounds of Laughter, Shades of Life."

Harry E. Bacon, MD, Lectureship
Monday, May 21, 2018
4:00 – 4:45 pm

Caprice Greenberg, MD, MPH, of Madison, WI, will present this year’s Harry E. Bacon, MD, Lectureship. This lectureship honors a distinguished colorectal surgeon who established the Diseases of the Colon & Rectum journal, founded the International Society of University Colon and Rectal Surgeons and was a past president of the ASCRS. Dr. Greenberg will be introduced by Jamie Cannon, MD. The title of her presentation is "Sticky Floors and Glass Ceilings."

Parviz Kamangar Humanities in Surgery Lectureship
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
7:30 – 8:15 am

Ira Kodner, MD, of St. Louis, MO, will present this year’s Parviz Kamangar Humanities in Surgery Lectureship. This unique lectureship is funded by Mr. Parviz Kamangar, a grateful patient, to remind physicians and surgeons to place an emphasis on providing compassionate care. Dr. Kodner will be introduced by Dr. Yanek Chiu. The title of his presentation is "Medical Ethics and Frankenstein's Monster."

Masters in Colorectal Surgery Lectureship 
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
10:45 – 11:30 am

Peter Marcello, MD, of Burlington, MA, will present this year’s Masters in Colorectal Surgery Lectureship, which this year honors Patricia Roberts, MD. This lectureship honors a different esteemed surgeon each year who has made a considerable contribution to the specialty and the Society. Dr. Thomas Read will provide the introduction. The title of his presentation is "From Here to There."


Memorial Lectureship Honoring Dr. Bertram Portin
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
1:00 – 1:45 pm

Born in 1927, Dr. Portin received his medical degree from State University of New York Buffalo in 1953 and completed his general surgery residency at Edwin Meyer Memorial Hospital in 1959.

He received ABCRS certification 1961 and become an ASCRS Fellow in 1964. His esteemed career included Clinical Professor of Surgery and Chair, Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery at SUNY Buffalo and Chief, Colon and Rectal Surgery at Senter Hospital, Buffalo, NY. Dr. Portin is survived by wife Rhoda, children Robert, Susan and Mark, and five grandchildren.


Ernestine Hambrick, MD, Lectureship
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
10:45 – 11:30 am

Taylor Riall, MD, PhD, will present this year’s Ernestine Hambrick, MD, Lectureship. This lectureship honors Dr. Ernestine Hambrick for her dedication to patients with colon and rectal disorders, surgical students and trainees and the community at large. She was the first woman to be board certified in colon and rectal surgery, provided excellent care to patients and mentored numerous students, residents and young surgeons during her clinical practice.