2019 ASCRS Distinguished Lectureships

2019 ASCRS Distinguished Lectureships | ASCRS

Each year ASCRS members are asked to present prestigious lectureships at the ASCRS Annual Scientific Meeting. The following speakers will present their lectureships during the 2019 ASCRS Annual Scientific Meeting in Cleveland, OH.


Humanities in Surgery Lectureship
Sunday, June 2, 2019, from 1:30 - 2:15 pm

Peter Angelos, MD, of Chicago, IL, will present this year’s Humanities in Surgery Lectureship. This unique lectureship is funded by Mr. Parviz Kamangar, a grateful patient, to remind physicians and surgeons to place an emphasis on providing compassionate care.


Leela M. Prasad Memorial Debates 

Monday, June 3, 2019, from 7:00 - 8:00 am, Coffee and Controversies

This is a memorial debate in honor of Dr. Leela M. Prasad (1944 - 2016), a well-respected Fellow of the Society for 34 years.


Harry E. Bacon, MD, Lectureship
Monday, June 3, 2019, from 10:00 - 10:45 am

 Mark Malangoni, MD, of Taylor, MI, will present this year’s Harry E. Bacon, MD, Lectureship. This lectureship honors a distinguished  colorectal surgeon who established the Diseases of the Colon & Rectum  journal, founded the International Society of University Colon and Rectal  Surgeons and was a past president of the ASCRS.


Presidential Address
Monday, June 3, 2019, from 10:45 – 11:30 am

David Margolin, MD, of  New Orleans, was elected president of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons at the 2018 ASCRS Annual Meeting in Nashville, TN

Dr. Margolin is the Professor and Director Colorectal Research, the Ochsner Clinic Foundation and the University of Queensland School of Medicine, Ochsner Clinical School.  

Dr. Margolin  first served on the ASCRS Executive Council as a member-at-large from 2013 to 2016, as vice president 2016 – 2017 and as president-elect 2017 – 2018. During his tenure as a Fellow of the ASCRS, he has served on several committees including
Professional Development (2000-04), Socioeconomic (past Chair) (member 1998 – 2012), and Website (2009-2017). He also served as Associate Editor (2007-17) and Web Editor (2009-17) of Diseases of Colon and Rectum and as ASCRS representative to the Current 
Procedural terminology (CPT) (2001-05, 2008) and the Relative Value Update Committee (RUC) (2002-05) of the American Medical Association.


Norman D. Nigro, MD, Research Lectureship 
Tuesday, June 4, 2019, from 7:30 - 8:15 am

James Church, MD, of Cleveland, OH will present this year’s Norman D. Nigro, MD, Research Lectureship. This lectureship honors Dr. Nigro’s significant research in the prevention of large bowel cancer and treatment of squamous cell carcinoma of the anus, as well as his leadership role in his chosen specialty and allied medical organizations.

Masters in Colorectal Surgery Lectureship 
Tuesday, June 4, 2019, from 10:45 – 11:30 am

Tracy Hull, MD, of Cleveland, OH, will present this year’s Masters in Colorectal Surgery Lectureship, which this year honors Ian C. Lavery, MD. This lectureship honors a different senior surgeon each year who has made a considerable contribution to the specialty and the Society.


Memorial Lectureship 
Tuesday, June 4, 2019, from 1:00 – 1:45 pm

Carol Ann Vasilevsky, MD, of Montreal, Quebec, Canada, will present this year's Memorial Lectureship, which honors Philip H. Gordon, MD. This lectureship honors a recently-deceased, high-ranking member of the ASCRS. 


Ernestine Hambrick, MD, Lectureship
Wednesday, June 5, 2019, from 10:45 – 11:30 am

Nancy Baxter, MD, PhD, of Toronto, ON, Canada, will present this year’s Ernestine Hambrick, MD, Lectureship. This lectureship honors Dr. Ernestine Hambrick for her dedication to patients with colon and rectal disorders, surgical students and trainees and the community at large.  She was the first woman to be board certified in colon and rectal surgery, and provided excellent care to patients and mentored numerous students, residents and young surgeons during her clinical practice.