ASCRS Annual Awards and Distinguished Lectureships

ASCRS Annual Awards and Distinguished Lectureships | ASCRS

Each year ASCRS members are asked to present prestigious lectureships at the ASCRS Annual Meeting. Others receive awards recognizing their invaluable contributions to the specialty of colon and rectal surgery. The following is a list of distinguished surgeons who have been honored by the ASCRS. 


The Masters in Colorectal Surgery is a lectureship established to honor a different senior surgeon each year who has made a considerable contribution to the Society and to the specialty.

The Harry E. Bacon, MD, Lectureship honors Dr. Bacon, who was professor and chairman of Temple University Hospital’s Department of Proctology. Dr. Bacon established the ASCRS’s journal, Diseases of the Colon and Rectum, and served as the publication’s first editor-in-chief.

The Ernestine Hambrick, MD Lectureship honors Dr. Hambrick for her dedication to patients with colon and rectal disorders, surgical students and trainees, as well as the community at large. Dr. Hambrick was the first woman to be board certified in colon and rectal surgery and mentored numerous students, residents and young surgeons throughout her career.

The Parviz Kamangar Humanities in Surgery Lectureship is funded by Mr. Kamangar, a grateful patient who wants to remind physicians and surgeons to compassionately care for their patients. 

The Joseph M. Mathews Oration was created in 1938 as a memorial for Dr. Mathews’ enormous contributions to the specialty. He was the first president of the Society and the first physician in the world to specialize in surgery of the rectum and colon.

The Memorial Lecture honors a recently deceased, high-ranking member of the Society, and is selected by the ASCRS Executive Council.

The Norman D. Nigro, MD Research Lectureship is in honor of Dr. Nigro, who is recognized for his many contributions to the care of patients with diseases of the colon and rectum, as well as for his research in the prevention of large bowel cancer and treatment of squamous cell carcinoma of the anus.


The Robert W. Beart, MD Impact Paper of the Year Award is presented annually to the authors of the manuscript published in the Society’s scientific journal, Diseases of the Colon and Rectum, that has the most impact on colon and rectal surgeons.

The Victor W. Fazio, MD, MS Award for Editorial Excellence is presented by the Society’s scientific journal, Diseases of the Colon and Rectum, to a reviewer who has demonstrated exceptional editorial work during the past year.

The Barton Hoexter, MD, Best Video Award is presented to the lead author of the best video at the ASCRS Annual Scientific Meeting in honor of Dr. Bart Hoexter.

The Robert D. Madoff, MD Impact Paper Award was established to honor the longstanding editor-in-chief of Diseases of the Colon and Rectum. It is selected annually to an original contribution to DC&R, published within the preceding five years, which has had the greatest impact on our understanding of pathogenesis and/or treatment of colorectal disease.