Search form

ASCRS Executive Council June 2017 highlights

ASCRS Executive Council June 2017 highlights | ASCRS

During the ASCRS Executive Council Meeting on June 14, 2017, the ASCRS Executive Council:

  • Approved the Editor-in-Chief Selection Policy for Diseases of the Colon and Rectum with the addition of language which defines the process for reviewing the current Editor-in-Chief’s performance in January of their third year in office, and the ability of the Executive Council to reappoint the current Editor-in-Chief to serve a second 5-year term, which, if implemented, would negate the need to initiate the search process for a replacement Editor-in-Chief.
  • Established the Leela M. Prasad, MD, Memorial Endowment Fund upon receipt of a $100,000 donation from the Chicago Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons.  The Leela Prasad, MD, Debate is to be held in Dr. Prasad’s honor every 2-3 years during the ASCRS Annual Meeting on timely, controversial topic(s) in colon and rectal surgery.
  • Approved the ASCRS Strategic Plan, Mission and Vision.
  • Approved the new Robert D. Madoff, MD Award for Scientific Achievement. 
  • Approved the Clinical Practice Guideline for the Management of Inherited Polyposis Syndromes, the Clinical Practice Guideline for the Prevention of Venous Thromboembolic Disease in Colorectal Surgery, and the Clinical Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Colon Cancer as presented by the Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee.