Healthcare Economics Committee

Healthcare Economics Committee | ASCRS

Responsible for presenting information on issues affecting the colon and rectal surgeon to Congress and agencies of the federal government. The Committee's responsibilities include keeping members informed on these issues and tracking developments in managed care, regulatory, legislative and other issues that impact coding, billing and reimbursement for colorectal services. 

The committee will ensure the Society has an increased impact and participation in areas of advocacy, education, quality and research initiatives.  They will also enhance the ability of members to navigate a changing socioeconomic and practice environment.

Need Assistance with Coding?

With the implementation of ICD-10 coding, the Healthcare Economics Committee took on the task of simplifying the new codes for members. A crosswalk between ICD-9 and ICD-10 was developed for popular colon and rectal surgery codes and shared with the membership via the website to help provide a smooth transition.

Reimbursement and the correct ICD-10 coding to support it are extremely important for every physician’s practice. This long and often cumbersome process can be complicated. ASCRS provides forms that allow ASCRS members to ask coding questions, and expert surgeons on the Healthcare Economics Committee answer them. For more information, visit the Healthcare Economics Committee Resources page. 

The goal of the committee is to keep members informed on legislative issues and to track developments in managed care, regulatory, legislative, and other issues that impact coding, billing, and reimbursement for colorectal services.


Walter Peters, Jr., MD
Vice Chair: Jeffrey Cohen, MD
Advisor: Guy Orangio, MD
Council Rep: Matthew Mutch, MD




Jeffrey Albright, MD
Nawar Alkhamesi, MD
Elizabeth Arcila, MD
Amir Bastawrous, MD
Rebeccah Baucom, MD
George Blestel, MD
Douglas Brewer, MD
George Chang, MD
Christopher Chow, MD
Jessica Cohan, MD
Donald Colvin, MD
Edward DelleDonne, MD
Nadav Dujovny, MD
Joshua Eberhardt, MD
Timothy Geiger, MD
Francesco Grasso, MD
Eric Haas, MD
William Harb, MD
Emina Huang, MD
Lyen Huang, MD
Srinivas Ivatury, MD
Kristina Johnson, MD
Jeffrey Manchio, MD
David Margolin, MD
Jan Nagle, Consultant
Juan Nogueras, MD
David O'Brien, MD
Jitesh Patel, MD
Fabio Potenti, MD
Sonia Ramamoorthy, MD
Stephen Sentovich, MD
Jenny Speranza, MD
Charles Ternent, MD
Steven Tsoraides, MD
Kelly Tyler, MD