Inflammatory Bowel Disease Committee

Inflammatory Bowel Disease Committee | ASCRS


Chair: Scott Strong, MD
Vice Chair: Sharon Stein, MD
Associate Chair: Amy Lightner, MD
Council Rep: Sonia Ramamoorthy, MD

Dan Chu, MD
William Cirocco, MD
Sam Eisenstein, MD
Phillip Fleshner, MD
Eric Haas, MD
Stefan Holubar, MD
Neil Hyman, MD
Brian Kann, MD
Sergey Khaitov, MD
Walter Koltun, MD
Edward Lee, MD
David Maron, MD
Steven Mills, MD
Matthew Mutch, MD
Scott Regenbogen, MD
Patricia Roberts, MD
Ankit Sarin, MD
Randolph Steinhagen, MD

The Inflammatory Bowel Disease Committee focuses on clinical practices and research.

The Surgical Research Network (SRN) of the Crohn's and Colitis Foundation

The Surgical Research Network (SRN) of the Crohn's and Colitis Foundation was created last year in partnership with the Research Foundation of ASCRS to enable selection and completion of collaborative Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD) research projects. The initial meeting was held last year at the 2017 ASCRS Annual Meeting, subsequently followed by additional meetings throughout the year to organize, select and fine tune research proposals. Two projects were funded and are awaiting IRB approval. The SRN is in a position to fund additional projects by year end.

We welcome all surgeons interested in IBD to participate. To join the SRN, please complete the application

Phil Fleshner, MD, SRN Co-Chair
Neil Hyman, MD, SRN Co-Chair


The Inflammatory Bowel Disease NSQIP project (NSQIP-IBD) is the first disease-specific data set under the National Surgical Quality Improvement Program.  We currently collect IBD-specific variables to better help identify which factors contribute to outcomes in surgery for these unique patients.  We have been collecting data since 2017 and already have collected data on over 2000 individual patients.  NSQIP-IBD is also the data collection backbone of several funded trials, employing the preexisting data collection apparatus innate to NSQIP to help defray the cost and effort that goes into research in large populations of IBD surgical patients. 

If you are interested in joining the collaborative please email Dr. Sam Eisenstein,

*Please note your institution must participate in the NSQIP targeted colectomy and proctectomy modules to be eligible.