International Committee

International Committee | ASCRS

The International Committee awards ASCRS International Travel Scholarships annually. Awardees of International Traveling Scholarships attend attend the ASCRS Annual Meeting and potentially travel within the United States to visit colon and rectal surgery residency programs. The committee is responsible for enhancing the collaboration with other societies and organizations to achieve the ASCRS educational goals.

As we work to engage surgeons in other countries, we hope to expand knowledge about the specialty and broaden available educational opportunities in order to better serve patients internationally.

Most recently, we have begun to host the International Symposium at the ASCRS Annual Scientific Meeting. This has allowed us to expand our outreach efforts and begin discussions on different approaches based on the needs of the international community. By collaborating with international partners, we expand educational opportunities for ourselves and our international colleagues.



Chair: Claudia Hriesik
Vice Chair: Wolfgang Gaertner
Advisor: Richard Billingham
Council Rep: William Cirocco


Maher Abbas
Badma Bashankaev
Jasna Coralic
Nadav Dujovny
Wolfgang Gaertner
Susan Galandiuk
I. Ethem Gecim
Stanley Goldberg
Rebekah Kim
Won-Suk Lee
Zheng Liu
Thaer Obaid
Carlo Ratto
Arceu Scanavini Neto
Mattias Soop
Akira Sugita
George Theodoropoulos