Public Relations Committee

Public Relations Committee | ASCRS

The committee's main purpose is to increase public awareness of colon and rectal diseases and the availability of trained specialists in its treatment. 

The committee is also responsible for the following:

  • Develop and disseminate educational materials patients.
  • Develop a prioritized comprehensive plan for media interactions to promote ASCRS and public awareness of colorectal diseases.
  • Improve public identity of ASCRS members’ credentials.
  • Choose the recipient of the Local Hero Award, the David Jagelman Award and Media Award.

What's New?

To accomplish the ASCRS’s mission of increasing public awareness of colon and rectal diseases, the Public Relations Committee brainstorms and executes new campaigns each year. The Society’s patient education brochures have been revised, redesigned and reprinted. Content is also updated on the patient diseases and conditions pages, which include some of the most frequently visited pages on the ASCRS website. Many pages include corresponding videos, some of which will be translated into Spanish.

The committee determines the awardees of the Society’s media award, Jagelman Award, as well as the Local Hero Award, all presented at the Annual Scientific Meeting. 

“We continue as a committee to come up with new and creative ways to disseminate information about not only colorectal disease but also colorectal surgeons and our organization,” said Dr. Roberta Muldoon.


Chair: Michael Arvanitis

Vice Chair: Yosef Naseeri

Council Rep: Kirsten Wilkins


Ellen Bailey
Avinash Bhakta
Tara Domash-Martinez
Christine Hsieh
Christina Jenkins
Erin King-Mullins
Alex Jenny Ky
Linda Lapos
Amanda McClure
Cedrek McFadden
Margarita Murphy
Lynn O'Connor
Mary Teresa O'Donnell
Joshua Parks
Kathryn Rutan
Theodore Saclarides
Negar Salehomoum
Earl Thompson
Kelly Tyler
Jennifer Wang
Eric Weiss
Katerina Wells