Search form

Quality Assessment and Safety Committee

Quality Assessment and Safety Committee | ASCRS

The Quality Assessment and Safety Committee monitors activities of the National Quality Forum (NQF), the Surgical Quality Alliance (SQA), and the AMA Consortium. The committee is dedicated to optimizing care for patients with colorectal disease by setting goals and standards for the treatment of diseases affecting the colon, rectum and anus. 

What's New?

The Quality Assessment and Safety Committee is working hard to identify ways to provide value to ASCRS members in the following ways:

1.  Representation of ASCRS at Key Organizations
"We are actively monitoring and participating in organizations evaluating quality associated to colorectal surgery," said Dr. Larissa Temple, chair. "While we are a relatively small society, we have worked hard to get a voice at the table of key organizations to ensure that colon and rectal surgeons are represented. We have ASCRS members on the NQF Surgery Steering Committee, which reviews all surgical measures for CMS endorsement as well as the NQF CSAC, and are nominating individuals to the Cancer Committee.  We are active participants with the ACS in both the SQA and Performance Measurement Workgroup, which are developing quality measures for all surgeons including ASCRS members. While working closely with the ACS and their extensive staff, we are ensuring that the ASCRS has a voice at the table for quality measurement in surgery."

2.  Informing Membership
a. 2017 Symposium - "We have a symposium on Monday, June 12, 2017, entitled 'Public Reporting of Surgical Outcomes,' designed to show how public reporting can directly affect a member's practice," said Dr. Temple.

b. Rectal Cancer Checklist
"Through work performed by the committee since 2011, we are pleased to have developed a Rectal Cancer Checklist that is available online and soon to be published in Diseases of the Colon and Rectum," said Dr. Temple. "It was designed to be a living document that will be amended/edited every six months by the Quality Assessment and Safety Committee. We are also beginning to explore possible ways to transition this checklist to electronic platforms such as EPIC and handheld devices."

c. Email Blasts
"We have committed to sending ASCRS members information about two quality issues in 2016 via email," said Dr. Temple. "Our first email blast was focused on initiatives by the ASCRS for improving the optimal treatment of rectal cancer, as well as information about the most recent trials. In the fall, we will be sending an email blast on enhanced recovery after surgery programs and their impact on improving quality of care for our patients."

d. Website Updating
"We will be reviewing the 2016 ASCRS Annual Meeting program and identifying sessions and abstracts that relate to quality improvement," said Dr. Temple.


Chair: Larissa Temple, MD
Vice Chair: David Etzioni, MD
Advisor: Arden Morris, MD
Council Rep: Bruce Orkin, MD

Johnathan Chun, MD Kurt Melstrom, Jr., MD
Robert Cima, MD Melanie Morris, MD
David Dietz, MD Deborah Nagle, MD
Rahila Essani, MD Nina Paonessa, MD
Timothy Geiger, MD Carrie Peterson, MD
Sean Glasgow, MD Scott Regenbogen, MD
Amanda Hayman, MD Marcia Russell, MD
Samantha Hendren, MD Rudolph Rustin, MD
Stefan Holubar, MD Scott Strong, MD
Neil Hyman, MD Charles Taylor, III, MD
Gregory Kennedy, MD Julie Thacker, MD
Pokala Ravi Kiran, MD Eric Weiss, MD
Mary Kwaan, MD Charles Whitlow, MD
Martin Luchtefeld, MD Elizabeth Wick, MD