Search form

You are here

Research Foundation Leadership and Committees

Research Foundation Leadership and Committees | ASCRS


The work of the Research Foundation of the ASCRS could not be done without the dedication of its Board and Committee members.  Below is a listing of the current Research Foundation Board and Committee rosters.

Board of Trustees

The Research Foundation Board of Trustees supervises, controls and directs the business and affairs of the Foundation.  It determines its policies and actively promotes its purpose. The primary mission of the Research Foundation of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons is to raise and award funds to support research and educational programs related to colon and rectal diseases.  Over the past twenty years, the Research Foundation has awarded over 120 grants and $4 million to colorectal surgeons and researchers to investigate a broad spectrum of colorectal diseases and to develop novel surgical techniques pertinent to the care of colorectal patients. 


Michael Stamos, MD

Vice President
Scott Strong, MD

Past President
Steven Wexner, MD, PhD (Hon)

Ronald Bleday, MD

Neil H. Hyman, MD



Linnea Burman
Connor Delaney, MD, PhD
Charles E. Littlejohn, MD
Rick Mangat, PhD
Guy Orangio, MD
Harry Papaconstantinou, MD
Patricia L. Roberts, MD
Mark Welton, MD
John R.T. Monson, MD (ex-officio)


Research Foundation Committee Rosters

Research Committee  

The Research Committee is responsible for reviewing the scientific merit of grant applications for the Research Foundation. The Committee sends its recommendations to the Board of Trustees for approval of funding. 

John Monson, MD, Chair
Elizabeth Wick, Vice Chair
Theodor Asgeirsson, MD
Mariana Berho, MD
Bradley Champagne, MD
David Etzioni, MD
Alessandro Fichera, MD
Emily Finlayson, MD
Fergal Fleming, MD
Traci Hedrick, MD
Daniel Herzig, MD
Claudia Hriesik, MD
Matthew Kalady, MD
Mary Kwaan, MD
Anne Lin, MD
Evangelos Messaris, MD
Garrett Nash, MD
Alessio Pigazzi, MD
Rocco Ricciardi, MD
David Stewart, Sr., MD
Patricia Sylla, MD
Mark Whiteford, MD
Yi-Qian Nancy You, MD

Young Researchers Committee

The focus of the Young Researchers Committee is to select a surgeon who has met the criteria for the Mentor Award, to develop the Research Forum at the ASCRS Annual Meeting, which highlights developing areas of research that have clinical relevance for the care of patients with colorectal diseases, and to choose a winner of the best “Works in Progress” at the Research Forum. 

Konstantin Umanskiy, MD, Chair
Joseph Carmichael, MD, Vice Chair
Asna Amin, MD
Raul Bosio, MD
Lisa Cannon, MD
Kyle Cologne, MD
Giovanna Da Silva, MD
Russel Ware Farmer, MD
Aakash Gajjar, MD
Jason Hall, MD
Dana Hayden, MD
Jennifer Irani, MD
Nezar Jrebi, MD
Mukta Krane, MD
Kellie Mathis, MD
Nelya Melnitchouk, MD
Raman Menon, MD
Nitin Mishra, MD
Ian Paquette, MD
Daniel Popowich, MD
Marcia Russell, MD
Scott Regenbogen, MD
Virginia Shaffer, MD
Melissa Times, MD
Karen Zaghiyan, MD

Fundraising Assistance Committee

The Fundraising Assistance Committee is a group of surgeons dedicated to the creation of novel funding resources to benefit the ASCRS Research Foundation. 

José Guillem, MD, Chair
Herand Abcarian, MD
Matt Albert, MD
Conor Delaney, MD
Kelli Bullard-Dunn, MD
C. Neal Ellis, MD
James Fleshman, MD
Morin Hanson, MD
Sergio Larach, MD
Najjia Mahmoud, MD
Peter Marcello, MD
Michael Page, MD
Stephen Rauh, MD
Thomas Read, MD
Howard Ross, MD
Anthony Senagore, MD
Mark Welton
Steven Wexner, MD